Press Union of Liberia names anniversary committee ahead of 57th celebration

The Press Union of Liberia (PUL) has named its 57th-anniversary committee ahead of the celebration, in late September.

This year’s anniversary celebration will take place in Lofa, northwest of the country.

The PUL was founded in Monrovia on September 30 in 1964, as the umbrella organization of Liberian media institutions and professionals. The union since its foundation has continued to advocate for press freedom and the rights of journalists in the country.

The union is now also initiating reforms on journalists’ welfare and protection, the legal operating environment of the media, and content development through capacity enhancement interventions aimed at improving the output of news organs in the country.

Journalists will in the lead up to the celebration increase their attention to the great people of Lofa, their leaders, and Non- governmental Organizations on problems confronting the region.

The county is revered for its brilliance in agriculture, wildlife hunting, and rich traditions rooted in respect for inhabiting tribes. The is region however also faces challenges with roads network, education, and healthcare, as being experienced in most parts of the country.

Those appointed are Melody Mezay-Ketter, Chairperson; Emmanuel Kortu, Co-chair; Alvin Worzi, Secretary, and Jackson Prince Foyofayiah, member. Other members also include Rose Yassah Stubblefield, Gbatemah Success Senah, Victoria Flomo, and Moses Kollie Garzeawu. Christopher Sellee and Kerkula Kamara were also named as advisors to the committee.

At the same time, the PUL leadership named a team of journalists based in Lofa as members of an on-the-ground Coordinating Committee, charged with working with the anniversary committee. They are Tokpa Tarnue, Arthur Kowah, Samuel Boley, Emmanuel Sowah, Saah Pongay, Quiqui Miller  and James Kwabo.

In a release, PUL President, Charles Coffey expressed confidence in members of the committees, urging them to ensure the full execution of their responsibilities.

The anniversary committee, Mezay-Ketter on behalf of the committee thanked the union’s leadership for the confidence reposed in them and assured that the committee will do everything to have a great anniversary celebration.

Tags: | | | | | | | | | | | | | | |